BBA Ballot: NL Most Valuable Player


We are coming to a close when it comes to the Baseball Bloggers Alliance end of season awards. In fact, we’ve come to the final bit, the National League Stan Musial Award for most valuable player. Today, the Maniac does not have a whole lot of time due to medical school-related constraints, but the ballot has to come out today. As a result, I went ahead and decided the order, based on my homebrew WAR and a few gut-based inclinations based on data accuracy on the pitcher run numbers. What will follow is my official ballot for the Stan Musial Award, with explanations upcoming within the week, time permitting.

Without further ado, here is the Marlin Maniac’s ballot, ten names strong, for the 2010 Stan Musial Award!

10. Troy Tulowitzki, SS, Colorado Rockies (6.0 WAR)
9. Adam Wainwright, RHP, St. Louis Cardinals (7.2 WAR)
8. Matt Holliday, LF, St. Louis Cardinals (6.6 WAR)
7. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B, Washington Nationals (6.8 WAR)
6. Josh Johnson, RHP, Florida Marlins (7.9 WAR)
5. Carlos Gonzalez, OF, Colorado Rockies (7.3 WAR)
4. Ubaldo Jimenez, RHP, Colorado Rockies (9.2 WAR)
3. Joey Votto, 1B, Cincinnati Reds (7.8 WAR)
2.  Albert Pujols, 1B, St. Louis Cardinals (8.4 WAR)

1. Roy Halladay, RHP, Philadelphia Phillies (10.1 WAR)

I was concerned about the high totals for the pitcher numbers, so I basically bumped the pitchers down a notch each. But in keeping with my ballot from last year (when I voted Tim Lincecum) as my MVP, I am volunteering a first-place vote to the most dominant pitcher in baseball this season, one Roy Halladay. I think pitchers get undue discredit in MVP awards, and I think Halladay is well deserving of it this season. Congratulations to Roy Halladay for winning the Maniac’s vote for the 2010 National League Stan Musial Award!