Miami Marlins: Jose Fernandez is finalist for Cy Young, Rookie of the Year


Jul 15, 2013; Flushing, NY, USA; From left to right, National League shortstop Everth Cabrera (2) of the San Diego Padres, pitcher Jose Fernandez (16) of the Miami Marlins, pitcher Aroldis Chapman (54) of the Cincinnati Reds, and second baseman Brandon Phillips (4) of the Cincinnati Reds hold up signs for Stand Up for Cancer during the Home Run Derby in advance of the 2013 All Star Game at Citi Field. Mandatory Credit: Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports

After throwing together a monster year in his rookie season, Miami Marlins ace Jose Fernandez was named a finalist for two prestigious awards: the NL CY Young and NL Rookie of the Year.

He was named among three finalists for each award on Tuesday night by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Fernandez is the front runner to take home the the NL Rookie of the Year Award, which will be announced next Monday (11/11). The 21-year old Cuban has already won the honor of being the top N.L. rookie nod from The Sporting News, Baseball America and at the Players’ Choice Awards.

Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig and St. Louis Cardinals starter Shelby Miller are the other two rookie finalists. Of the two, Puig and the narrative that he carried the Dodgers from a disappointment to a postseason team could be the biggest challenge that Fernandez faces.

While Fernandez seems to have the NL ROY in the bag, the CY Young Award is another story. His competition for the award included Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw and Cardinals righty Adam Wainwright. The NL CY Young winner will be announced next Wednesday (11/13).

Kershaw led the National League in strikeouts and led the entire majors with his 1.83 ERA. Fernandez was second in the NL, behind Kershaw of course, in ERA. He is likely held back by his innings limit of 172 innings, as both Kershaw and Wainwright finished the season with more than 236 innings.

I’d expect Fernandez to finish second behind Kershaw in the voting, with Wainwright finishing in third. For the complete list of finalists, including MVP and Manager awards, click here.