Miami Marlins hitter nominated for prestigious award

Luis Arraez
Luis Arraez / Megan Briggs/GettyImages

The Miami Marlins have sadly been eliminated from the playoffs. That certainly wasn't due to second baseman Luis Arraez, who will win the National League batting title this season. The future looks bright for The Fish and it looks like he might be rewarded for his contributions. Arraez has been nominated for the 2023 National League Hank Aaron award!

Miami Marlins second baseman Luis Arraez is nominated for the NL Hank Aaron award.

Since 1999, MLB has been awarding an award in honor of Hank Aaron. The award for the best offensive player in each league. This season Miami Marlins second baseman Luis Arraez is one of the nominees for the National League award. Arraez was worth 4.9 WAR this season, after hitting .54/.393/.469 in 147 games and 574 AB, with 10 home runs and 69 RBI. Some people might not be impressed by his lack of power, but he's an elite contact hitter who gets on base at an elite level.

Who is Luis Arraez's competition for the award? Atlanta Braves RF Ronald Acuna Jr. batted .337/.416/.596, with 41 home runs and 106 RBI in 159 games and 643 AB. I suspect that Acuna will impress voters a bit more than Arraez. Chicago Cubs CF Cody Bellinger is another candidate.

Bellinger has batted .307/.356/.525 with 26 home runs and 97 RBI, in 130 games and 499 AB. I see Arraez as easily receiving more voted than Bellinger. At least he should receive more votes. Los Angeles Dodgers RF Mookie Betts is yet another contender for the award. He batted .307/.408/.579 with 39 home runs and 107 RBI, in 152 games and 584 AB. Betts is yet another strong contender for the award.

Arizona Diamondbacks LF Corbin Carroll is a nominee as well. He batted .285/.362/.506, with 25 home runs and 76 RBI in 155 games and 565 AB. Betts' teammate Los Angeles Dodgers 1B Freddie Freeman is a nominee too. Freeman has batted .331/.410/.567, with 29 home runs and 102 RBI in 161 games and 637 AB. Rounding out the nominees are the Philadelphia Phillies' Bryce Harper (.293/.401/.499); Atlanta Braves 1B Matt Olson (.283/.389/.604); San Diego Padres LF Juan Soto (.275/.410/.519).

Hall of Fame voters and the fans will get to vote for the award. You can vote as well right here. I project Ronald Acuna Jr. to win the award, but hope that Luis Arraez will win instead, as he deserves it more.

Next. Upcoming Marlins decisions. Upcoming Marlins decisions. dark